Author Topic: Substance source .sbsar shader not working in maya 2018 with plugin  (Read 991 times)

Hi there,
I'm relatively new to substance. i downloaded desert_sandy_bedrock.sbsar from the substance source library's signature collection. I was able to use it without issue in modo. However, when I try to bring it into maya 2018 using the substance plugin, it is not loading the shader or the maps at all. I set the workflow to custom and made sure that the automatic connections was clicked on. when i try to open that shader nothing happens. No maps are generated and the substance file input box stays empty. I tried using one of the materials that came with the substance plugin called corrugated_Metal.sbsar and that came in and propogated fine. I'm not sure what I'm missing?? Please advise.
Dominika

I'm having a similar issue, and one that I see described in a number of forum threads. As described by the OP, a working SBSAR file is loaded by the Maya LT 2018 Substance Plugin inside Hypershade (plugin version 1.2.4.0-bb5eb94 in my case), and nothing updates or responds to clicks. Sometimes the "Reload" button will add the absolute path to the substance name.

No inputs are shown in the window area below the "Reload" button. Pressing "Create shader network" creates an error popup that says "No Substance Output Node could not be automagically connected to the shader node. Pleasemanually [sic] connect the output to the appropriate shaderinput or exit custom workflow". Side note: the popup mentions "custom workflow" even while in "StingrayPBS" workflow, and actually the "Create shader network" button is not available in the "Custom" workflow.

A handful of downloaded files from Substance Source work, but not all, and none of my custom Designer files do (they all use the standard metallic PBR outputs from the included template, some with AO).